Stefan Petermann und Synke Köhler were awarded with the 28th Würth Prize for Literature


Künzelsau. Stefan Petermann and Synke Köhler were awarded the Würth Prize for Literature in the Würth Museum in Künzelsau-Gaisbach on Sunday, September 24th. The prize is endowed with a total of 7,500 euros. The topic of the competition was „After I met you, I saw myself as another.“

In awarding the prizes, prose texts with a length of around 10,000 characters are awarded, which convincingly go their own linguistic paths. The author Siri Hustvedt has set the topic during her poetics lectureship in 2016 at the University of Tübingen.

As part of the 28th Würth Prize for Literature more than 750 texts were submitted. The first prize, endowed with 5,000 euros, was given to Stefan Petermann from Weimar for his text „Trockenschwimmen“. Manfred Pope praised in his laudation the "atmospherically dense story."

The second prize, worth € 2,500, went to Synke Köhler from Berlin for her short story „Die Vermessung der Gehwegplatten“. Karl-Heinz Ott emphasized the linguistic value of the narrative in his laudatory speech. The prize-winning texts as well as other selected narratives of the contestants were included in an anthology, which was published by the Swiridoff-Verlag, Künzelsau.

The Würth Prize for Literature

The Würth Prize for Literature has been awarded since 1996 in cooperation with the University of Tübingen. The Würth Prize for Literature is awarded by the Würth Foundation. The jury of the Würth Prize for Literature consist of: Hans-Ulrich Grunder (Educationalist, Basel); Dorothee Kimmich (Literary scholar and organizer of the poetics lectureship, University of Tübingen); Karl-Heinz Ott (Author, Freiburg); Manfred Papst (Head of the Cultural Department, Neue Zürcher Zeitung am Sonntag); Thomas Scheuffelen (Professor of Literary Studies, TU Darmstadt). The jury is directed by Philipp Alexander Ostrowicz (Copenhagen Business School, Kopenhagen, Dänemark).

Corporate News

This is not a valid email address.

Arts & Culture

This is not a valid email address.