Yngve Holen has been awarded with the 12th Robert-Jacobsen-Prize


Berlin/Künzelsau. The artist Yngve Holen, born in 1982 in Braunschweig and now living and working in Berlin, has been awarded the Robert Jacobsen Prize of the Würth Foundation, which is worth 25,000 euros. The award ceremony took place on 28th September at the Würth House in Berlin. Armin Zweite, former director of the Museum Brandhorst, Munich, and a member of the jury, held the laudation.

Trained in Vienna and Frankfurt, Yngve Holen is mainly concerned with the relationship between man and machine, body and medicine. He is interested in the interface between biology and technology. In some of his works, he transforms parts of highly complex medical imaging devices into minimalistic sculptures. Industrial products are dismantled to release their unknown inner life. Subliminal, the abyss and doubtfulness of a forcibly advanced evolution are underlined. What is asked, is the everyday in the presence. This manifests itself in his works, in the titles of the works and in the terminology used by him in a whole series of texts. Holens Œuvre therefore includes objects and multi-part installations as well as publications. His concern with minimal and conceptual art is as well noticeable as his orientation on appropriation art and postproduction. "Holen's previous work proves to be a decisive and analytical contribution to the 21st century”, says Armin Zweite in his laudation.

Holen works in and with many media. For example, he is the initiator of the magazine “ETOPS”. For the Church of St. Michael in Kassel, he designed an organ with high-gloss finished pipes and long lines of black synthetic hair. These are moved by a draft that begins as soon as the organ is played. His works follow formally a strict objectivity, which is repeatedly broken and thwarted by play.

About the Robert-Jacobsen-Prize

After the death of the sculptor Robert Jacobsen in 1993, the Würth Foundation, in cooperation with the Würth Museum, has awarded the Robert Jacobsen Prize, which is awarded every two years to contemporary artists to recall the work and influence of Robert Jacobsen.

Former prize winners are:


  • 1993 Lun Tuchnowski
  • 1995 Richard Deacon
  • 1997 Magdalena Jetelovà
  • 1999 Gereon Lepper
  • 2001 Stephan Kern
  • 2003 Rui Chafes
  • 2005/2006 Bernar Venet
  • 2008 Monika Sosnowska
  • 2010 Alicja Kwade
  • 2012 Jeppe Hein
  • 2014 Michael Sailstorfer


The jury consist of: Maria Jacobsen, Christiane Lange, Sean Rainbird, Gottfried Knapp, Armin Zweite, Lun Tuchnowski, C. Sylvia Weber, as well as the last prize winner, which is currently Michael Sailstorfer.

Corporate News

This is not a valid email address.
This module is undergoing maintenance so the subscribe attempt failed. Please try again in one hour.

Arts & Culture

This is not a valid email address.
This module is undergoing maintenance so the subscribe attempt failed. Please try again in one hour.